Do you agree or disagree: “In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct”?

While traditionally, people praise perfect work even though it is time-consuming, modern society does not pursue perfection that much. Instead, people appreciate the fast-moving pace, and don’t resist to make mistakes. From my observation of life, I agree with the statement that in modern society it is more important to work quickly, even though it may cause some mistakes.

To begin with, modern society works in a very fast pace, and people must catch up with it otherwise they would fall behind others. For example, my colleagues discuss things and come up with new ideas very quickly in meetings, and sometimes they make mistakes in their discussion. However, we never stuck on those mistakes because we think those mistakes are minor and can be fixed later. Also, if we focus on correcting the errors, the meetings will be delayed and we have to find more time to meet, which is really inefficient. That is, working fast and efficiently is more important to modern people so risking minor mistakes are acceptable.

In the second place, modern technology can fix problems quickly, so even though mistakes happen, they are no longer problems. To illustrate, I work in a fast pace and reply emails to my customers very quickly to meet their expectation. As a result, I make wrong spelling occasionally. However, it is ok because my computer will correct my spelling immediately. In contrast, if I spend time checking every word carefully, even though I can write a perfect email, my client would be unhappy because I respond to them not quickly enough.

Nevertheless, some people still hold that they don’t want to make any mistakes. Yet, they must understand that in fact, people welcome mistakes more today, because mistakes allow people to discover the drawback of current system and further to make improvement. For instance, the Apple Company updates their software system very often, and there are always mistakes in the most updated version. However, they do not worry about it because after they release the new version, they would get hundreds of feedbacks from their users, which actually help them to find the mistakes that they could not otherwise. Hence, risking making mistakes is not problematic.

In summary, we live in a society which advances in a fast pace. To keep up with it, people work quickly, dare to make mistakes, and also respond to make improvement accordingly. That is why I contend that it is more important to work quickly, even though it may cause some mistakes.