Do you agree or disagree with the way a person dressed is a good indication of his/her personality or character?

Fine feather makes fine birds, which means that a well-dressed people never fails to leave the fondest impression on people around him or her. Some people assert that a person’s personality can be indicated by how he or she dresses. Perhaps no issue has led to such an endless debate as to whether or not a person’s character could be perfectly reflected by his or her appearance. As I see it, even though what one wears can convey some information about his or her character, a man must not be judged by his appearance.

Indeed, I have to concede that a neat appearance is an embodiment of a person’s qualities and personalities. For example, a passionate person tends to wear trendy and bright-colored clothes. Conversely, a quiet person likes to wear simple and light-colored clothes. Another positive aspect is that a well-dressed person is, in most cases, a respectable and well-mannered person. Then, it will make people around him feel at ease, therefore, he is, in most people’s eyes, easy to associate and communicate with.

Notwithstanding all that, we have to remember the old saying that we can never judge a book by its cover, so does the person. Some people have to dress the uniform when they embark on work. In this case, it seems that they look like conservative individuals, whereas they have distinct personalities, some are extroverted while others are introverted. Moreover, a person who is impoverished may fail to afford up-market clothes with limited money, but it doesn’t mean that he is not a benevolent person. More precisely, he may be more humane and tender-hearted than a gentleman who looks graceful.

Another convincing argument could also be easily explored. Most superstars seem to be very passionate and enthusiastic when they are presenting a performance in public, virtually, they are not all that kind of people. Some of them actually are quiet people who love to be in a silent atmosphere and live a simple life. So, appearance of a person cannot always indicate his or her personality.

In the final analysis, my stand is that a person’s personality cannot be merely judged by his or her outlooks. The initial impression sometimes might be misleading, it is highly recommended to judge a person after long period of observation.