Parents give their children weekly money to buy whatever they want. Some people think this can cause bad habits and ideas about money in children. Others think the opposite. What's your opinion?

It is true that the parents in Asian society hope to give all properties to their kids as the name of love. Nevertheless, this kind of “love” cannot help their children to grow into mature and wise individuals but bring them troubles instead.

To begin with, money management is an important part of modern life. Children who are given money for nothing also have high chances that they are going to encounter great difficult at some point of their lives. Many people, and children of the wealthy in particular, like to squander all their money on things they enjoy such as expensive cars or fashionable clothes even though they are unearned. Squandering money like this, they will not be able to deal with troubles such as sudden unemployment, and harsh economic situations.

Aside from consuming, a good habit acquired in the formative years of a child is very likely to last a lifetime. However, many young people only start to learn this upon their adulthood and this usually does not work because very quickly they would find that they fall into the old habit. The children who are given weekly are surely unnecessary to do saving plans whereas when they grow up, they have to face the problem. This is relatively easier to learn when there is parental help and guidance. Less meaningless giving will increase the chance to managing.

Some may worry that space should be given to children that they can buy something which doesn’t need to be informed in family. After all, everyone has something secret. However, in light of the above-mentioned need, I suggest that the parents can give children money according to their academic performance or household helping, and make a permission that rational proportion of purchasing are complete free to tell the parents. That way they are making sure that given money does help to children’s growth.

We can therefore conclude that because personal finance is so important to children that parents cannot give money weekly in haste.