Parents give their children weekly money to buy whatever they want. Some people think this can cause bad habits and ideas about money in children. Others think the opposite. What’s your opinion

The way that parents should financially support their children is a challenging debate and also a personal choice. While many people give their children pocket money for fulfilling their needs, some people like me, argue that it is not the best way to satisfy children's demands because it can be harmful and dangerous for children’s future life. Accordingly, in the subsequent paragraphs, this idea will be explained in more depth.

Uncontrolled providing money to children can destroy their future financial life. This way of supporting lets the children imagine that there is always plenty of money for them, so there is no need to even think about how they should make money. In other words, this will make children dependent on their parents and renders them absurdly optimistic about life and its aspects. Drawing from my own experience, I had a friend who is almost thirty now, and he still gets money from his parents. He would be an independent person, in the case that his parents provided his needs in a controlled manner.

In addition to financial dependency, when money is available for children without monitoring, it may lead them to participate in illegal activities. In fact, children can be deceived easily, especially when someone makes a situation or event enticing for them. For instance, they can be seduced by drugs and alcohol. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, a lot of my friends had been involved with drug addiction at a tender age, and unfortunately, they ruined the best years of their lives. Therefore, unmanaged providing money for children could have destroyable effects on their life.

Thus, with the above in mind, parents who are providing weekly money to their children for spending as their desire are not conscious about the risks of their method. This unmanaged manner can decimate the financial independence of their children, and get them involved in illegitimacy.