Do you agree with the statement that teachers have had more value in the past than today

There are different opinions on whether or not teachers were respected more in the past than nowadays. As with everything, there are always two sides to every question. Some people hold the opinion that teachers have had more authoritative presence in the past than today. Others, of course, strongly disagree that educators had more value in the past. Today they are more appreciated than decades ago. I, myself agree with the former because I believe that teachers were valued by society in a different level of degree than they are today.

To begin with, in the past teachers were classified in the category of elites. Their power of teaching was outstanding because the system was organised in a different way than it is today. Back in the day, teachers were those people who had to evaluate and decide which students would continue further education, based on their performance during the academic year. Today, teachers do not do that. Students, just have to pas those standard exams and if they fulfill the requirements then they are good to continue their education. Because of this, the educational system has replaced the power of teachers.

Furthermore, another reason which has to be considered is that being a teacher, decades ago was very hard, the pathway that students had to go was not that easy. To become a professor in those days, students had to be excellent in school and a well-rounded people. To illustrate this, take my father's experience. He was a very talented teacher. When he decided to become a professor he knew that the path that he had to follow it was not going to be easy. But, because he loved to teach, he did not think about it. My father did his best on his preparation. Therefore, he was successful in his profession. I remember, when his students talked about his natural skill of teaching, and how much they appreciated his help.

That is why, I think that it is important to appreciate the hard work of our teachers.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that teachers were valued more in the past than they are today because their path was harder and their power of teaching was higher than it is today.