ds
Altruism is a type of behavior in which an animal sacrifices its own interest for that
of another animal or group of animals. Altruism is the opposite of selfishness; individuals
performing altruistic acts gain nothing for themselves.
Examples of altruism abound, both among humans and among other mammals.
Unselfish acts among humans range from the sharing of food with strangers
to the donation of body organs to family members, and even to strangers. Such
acts are altruistic in that they benefit another, yet provide little reward to the one
performing the act.
In fact, many species of animals appear willing to sacrifice food, or even their
life, to assist other members of their group. The meerkat, which is a mammal that
dwells in burrows in grassland areas of Africa, is often cited as an example. In
groups of meerkats, an individual acts as a sentinel, standing guard and looking out
for predators while the others hunt for food or eat food they have obtained. If the
sentinel meerkat sees a predator such as a hawk approaching the group, it gives an
alarm cry alerting the other meerkats to run and seek shelter. By standing guard,
the sentinel meerkat gains nothing-it goes without food while the others eat, and
it places itself in grave danger. After it issues an alarm, it has to flee alone, which
might make it more at risk to a predator, since animals in groups are often able
to work together to fend off a predator. So the altruistic sentinel behavior helps
ensure the survival of other members of the meerkat's group.