Essay topics: TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task

People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is very important part of our lives. It is vital in every person because it can serve as a vehicle in having a good future ahead of us. Some people attend College education for a variety of reasons such as new experience, career preparation, increased knowledge. In my view, people attend University for career preparation for two important reasons.

First of all, I attended college because I can have a stable work after finishing my studies. Moreover, there will be a greater opportunity for me after graduation because having a college degree will give you an edge in landing a job. My own experience is a compelling example of this, when I was in Nursing School at Olivarez College my professors taught me a variety of knowledge, experiences in how to deal with patients and it prepared me to be a better nurse. Thus, it helped me to be equipped with the right tools needed to be a professional nurse. I believed that with the helped of my professor in Nursing school I become one of the best in my field and I could would not have done it without their guidance and support. In addition, during my first job interview in Makati Medical Center the panel of interviewee were impressed with the way I answer their questions and hired me on the spot, and they give a position in the intensive care unit and now I am the head nurse of the ICU.

Secondly, college education will provide you with financial freedom. Having a degree will lead you to heights where you could not imagine is possible. For instance, our supervisor in Makati Medical center offered me a teaching job in the hospital and I will be handling 2nd year nursing students. In addition, my salary will be doubled in this teaching job and will also broaden my knowledge in teaching styles and techniques. This opportunity gave me a more financial freedom and made my career in nursing more fulfilling because I can share my knowledge and expertise in the intensive care nursing.

To summarize, I strongly believed that people attended college for career preparation. This is because having a degree can help you find a decent job and give a more financial freedom in your finances.