Every generation of people is different in important ways. How is your generation different from your parents’ generation?

Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

It goes without saying that every generation belongs to certain things that make generations different from one another. However, the postmodern philosophy has transformed a new outlook on life that is almost radically different from my parents’ generation. That is to say, my generation’s attitude is moulded by postmodern epoch’s influence, while modernity exerted a powerful influence over my parents’ generation.

As my generation influenced by postmodernism, we tend to be skeptical that there is no absolute reality. In other words, we react to the assumed certainty of objective, scientific, effort to interpret reality. We, in fact, think that reality is not merely mirrored in human comprehension of it, but rather, is built as the mind always tries to understand its own personal and particular reality. That is why, we are highly skeptical of the explanations that claim to be standard for all races, communities, cultures, traditions, instead shed light on the relative truths of each individual. On the other hand, my parents’ generation believed in an objective reality, a reality whose feature and existence are logically independent of us—of our mindsets, our social practices, or our investigation methods. For this reason, they believed in absolute truth or reality.

Likewise, we hold that logic and reason are just conceptual constructions. And they, therefore, are valid only within the intellectual domain in which they are evolved. On the contrary, my parents’ generation associated with modernity believe that logic and reason are universally valid, and therefore, are applicable to, or their laws are same for all domain of knowledge. Apart from that, they believe that human civilization would be elevated by the innovation of science and technology. They rely on enlightenment faith in science and technology as key instrument of human progress. However, my generation denies this enlightenment faith in science and technology. Indeed, we believe that the misguided pursuit of scientific and technological knowledge leads to the development of technologies for carnage.

In fine, generations are regarded as different from one another in some important ways. My generation is philosophically different from my parents’ generation. While my generation’s views are influenced by postmodernity, my parents’ generation falls under the influence of modernity.