What is your approach to problem-solving, and how does it work for you? Use specific details to support your response.

Everyone has their own problems and different methods to solve problems. To me, whenever I have a problem, especially a serious one, I often talk to other people about it. This is very beneficial to me. I strongly feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, we can learn from other people’s experience when we talk to them. As a student and a teenager, the problems that I usually come across are quite commonplace. Many people have been through them and managed to overcome those difficulties after all. As a result, they can use their experience to help me. My own story is a good example to illustrate this. After I successfully got into a prestigious high school for the gifted, I had a hard time dealing with the extensive amount of schoolwork and homework. There were just many things I had to learn but I didn’t have sufficient time to do all of them. One day, I decided to talk about my problem to my teacher. She told me that it was completely normal and if I kept trying me best, I would get used to it in a near future. Thus, I took her advice to did nothing but trying and fortunately, I got great results at the end of that school year.

Moreover, talking to other people about our problem helps us to clear our minds and therefore we are able to think better. Every time we have a problem, if we insist on keeping it for ourselves, sooner or later will we become so stressed out that we cannot think thoroughly about anything. Havings somebody be all ears to our problems, share the problems with us, we will definitely feel better. For instance, the first year of high school wasn’t easy for me. I was really tense because of the pressure to cope with lots of homework. Thankfully, I met a sophomore in a club that I participated in. He listened to my problems and said that he was feeling the same way in his first year. His empathy was more than helpful to me, I felt a little bit relieved and stopped overthinking.

In conclusion, I truly believe that the best way to deal with a problem is to talk to somebody else. This should be done because we can learn from others’ experience and it’s good to have somebody to talk to, to share our problems. It is better for us to talk to a person close to us such as a friend or a family member since they understand us more.