Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people consider the reduction in the number of languages around the world to be an improvement to life. However, I disagree with this point of view.

Firstly, it is true that the dying out of languages has some benefits. When obsolete languages die out, people will have to switch to other, more commonly spoken ones. Therefore, the language barrier will be eliminated, facilitating global communication.

However, keeping the use of less commonly spoken languages has much more benefits. First of all, a community's language is closely tied to the people and culture of that community. The way inhabitants of a region view the world around them is reflected in the manner in which they think, speak and write. Therefore, when their language becomes extinct, their unique outlook on the world around them will be lost as well. One example is the extensive honorific system of the Korean language, which reflects the traditional value that younger people should pay due respect to old people in Korean society. Should Korean be replaced by a language without this feature, this value will not be as accurately demonstrated in everyday life as before. Another reason why this course of action is important is that all the different languages, with their distinctive features, make the world much more diverse. If a lingua franca replaces all these languages, a dystopian society will be created, where people think and act in the same manner, making the world a less interesting place.

In brief, despite its economic advantages, there being fewer languages around the world ultimately does more harm than good. Thus, governments should take steps in protecting languages that are on the brink of extinction