Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, there has been a constant decrease in a number of languages which exist on Earth. While some believe that this event is not significant, as people’s lives will be easier without them, I strongly disagree with this opinion and in this essay present several reasons for such point of view.

First of all, when languages die out, some knowledge which was recorded in them becomes lost. People for centuries were able to write in books or on stones, but without knowing the language this information might be almost impossible to decipher. As a result, specialists who can understand what is written are in high demand. For instance, in Egypt, scientists frequently find texts in ancient languages which are not spoken in the current age. Had these languages truly be forgotten, now we possibly would not have known so much about Ancient Egypt.

Secondly, languages allow us to better understand other cultures, which may increase our historical knowledge and broaden our horizons. With regards to the former, writings may describe historical events or the way people lived in that age. As for the latter, how a language is spoken may tell us something about its people. For example, if a language contains many words related to hunting, but none describing fish, then probably people who used it lived in a place without a river or sea.

To conclude, I believe that it is important to preserve languages, as they may allow future generations to increase their knowledge and better understand different cultures.