many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

There is no doubt that governments should do their best to improve the quality of life of its citizens. However, while some people believe that authorities should focus only on economic development, I would argue that there are other progress types which are equally significant.

To begin with, those who say that economic progress should be the most important goal for a country highlight the undeniable advantages of advanced economies, which include better life quality, higher salaries and life expectancy. Economic growth brings prosperity, which many people strive to achieve. For example, the average salary in Russia, which by many is considered to be a developing country, is much lower compared with the average salary in the UK, a developed country. If, on the other hand, a country is not able to develop economically, the citizens will suffer, as there will be an increase in unemployment and unhappiness.

However, I believe that although a rise in GDP is important, it should not be the sole focus of a government, as technological progress is at least as vital as an economic one. The reason for this is that new discoveries allow us to develop as human beings and have the capacity to significantly improve our lives. For instance, if governments of the USSR and the USA had thought only about making profits, people would never have gone to outer space, and we would not have had some technologies, such as GPS.

To conclude, whereas economic progress has its positives, such as bringing prosperity to a country, I would argue that technological development is also crucial, as it may lead to further improvements in people’s lives.