Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.Discuss both these views and give yo

In recent years, a number of measures have been proposed to improve public health. While some believe that the best way of doing so is to create more sports facilities, others claim that this would not achieve the desired result and other actions are needed. In this essay, I would discuss both views and explain why I agree with the latter.

To begin with, better sports infrastructure may lead to a healthier nation. The reason for this is that people who in the past were not able to attend these facilities now will be able to do so. For instance, a woman who wants to learn figure skating needs to skate somewhere, preferably not too far from her home. If there is no ice rink nearby, she might turn her attention to unhealthy activities, such as drinking or watching a lot of TV.

However, while appropriate facilities are important, I would argue that the desired effect may not be achieved. This is because some people do not exercise because they are lazy, and even if the infrastructure is in place, they will not change their way of lives. To conquer this problem, governments may launch a TV campaign which describes the advantages of a healthy lifestyle. Another possible solution may be providing monetary benefits to those who behave in a desired way, such as lowering their taxes.

In conclusion, although sports facilities may lead to improvements in public health, other measures, such as launching a TV campaign or compensating the desired behavior, might be required.