Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both views and give your own opp

There is no doubt that knowing a foreign language may be beneficial in a variety of situations. However, while some people believe that the only reason to learn it is to work or travel abroad, I would argue that there are more advantages which this knowledge might provide.

First of all, learning a language to travel or work in a foreign country is the most popular reason for such an activity. This is because nowadays people tend to travel a lot, and due to globalization, it becomes possible to find a better-paid job in a different country from one’s computer. With regards to the former, knowing a language allows more freedom to travel, as there is no need to keep a guide close to you all the time. As for the latter, without speaking at least one foreign language it is almost impossible to find a decent job abroad, no matter how good a specialist you are.

Nevertheless, in my opinion, there are additional positives in learning a language, apart from those mentioned above, such as broadening one’s horizons. When a person learns another language, they become exposed to a completely different culture. For example, when I was learning Spanish, I watched Spanish TV series and movies, which showed how Spaniards live and what they consider funny or important. Had I studied just for the purpose of travelling or working, I would not have known Spanish at all, as I have never been to Spain.

To conclude, although learning a language for travel and work is certainly one of the main causes to study, I would argue that broadening one’s horizons is an additional positive which should be considered.