A government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is clear that governments should invest in infrastructural projects. Although some people believe that more money should be spent on railways than on roads, I partly disagree with this opinion, as the amount of invested money will vary depending on a particular situation.

With regards to the trains, governments should invest more in them when distances between big cities are large. This is because this means of transport becomes cheaper than others as distance rises. For example, a car which travels from Moscow to Vladivostok will consume much more energy than a train, which will result in higher costs. Moreover, the same distance will be covered faster by railway, as the average train’s speed may exceed 200 km per hour for the prolonged period of time without the necessity to stop for a night.

On the other hand, cars are preferred when everything is closely located and frequently used, as governments should also consider economic aspects when making their investment decisions. For instance, in Europe, it is logical to actively develop roadways, while in Siberia it may not be profitable due to the low usage rate. If a government does not consider such aspects, then people might rebel against ineffective budget use. Additionally, when everything is relatively close, it is much easier to make repairs or, at least, to check different sections of a road.

To conclude, I partly disagree with the statement that more money should be invested in railways rather than roads. In my opinion, both these projects are significant, and their relative importance depends on such factors as the distance between big cities and the frequency of project’s use.