Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste

There is no doubt that waste management is an important issue in our society. While some people believe that the only way to recycle more is to make it a legal requirement, I do not agree with this point of view.

First of all, although recycling has its undeniable benefits, such as the reduction of pollution, obliging people to do something, in my opinion, should be a last resort. This is because before enforcing new laws, other methods should be tried first. For instance, in Russia there is very little known about recycling, so the first logical step will be to create a campaign which will describe the advantages of this process. In contrast, if the Russian government tried to enforce laws related to recycling now, this most likely would result in riots, as it might be assumed to be another way of unreasonably taking money from its citizens.

Moreover, governments should create appropriate infrastructure before implementing these laws. This, unfortunately, is not always possible, as it requires substantial investments in these facilities. As a result, ministers often have to choose between fighting the global warming and more down-to-earth problems, such as poor roads or underfunding of hospitals. Most of the time the authorities choose the latter. If, on the other hand, the infrastructure is not in place when the legislation is enacted, this likely will result in a disaster, as people simply will not know where to put their garbage.

To conclude, I disagree with the view that new laws should be made to increase recycling because before doing so, other methods of encouragement should be tried and appropriate infrastructure should be developed.