Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

In this modern world, although there is abundant exploration in science and technology, some people raise concern about the amount of waste from homes are not recycled. They further claim that the key aspect to increase recycling process at home is to enforce a law.

Looking at the prevailing conditions, in many houses, the waste is not recycled. The people may not be aware of the importance of recycling and its benefits or may not bother about the environment. If it’s the later case, and still people follow the conventional method of disposal of waste, they should be made aware of the consequences of their actions. Despite public awareness and campaigns if no recycling is carried in the home, the trend should be changed by involving the government.

Due to enormous amount of waste collected from homes, its challenging for the government to tackle the waste in regard to disposal and its associated impacts to the environment. Only, if the requirement of recycling is made mandatory, there may be a reduction in wastage and well as recycle process may happen at homes. If the rules are not adhered, penalty fees should be slashed on the failing homes. For instance, there was persistent information from government to wear safety belt while driving. People did not abide and only after the introduction of violation fees, people started to wear seat belt. Seat belts are related to own safety of the individual and has not impact to environment, whereas in regard to recycling process, it has detrimental effects to both individual and society.

In conclusion, at first stage, the government may enact a law and random sanity checks to be conducted by the government officials. If any violations are noted, a strict penalty fees to be applied which will create a fear for those who are not adhering to the rules. If the above is implemented, during the course of time, recycling becomes habitual and imperative custom of daily life. Subsequently, yields a positive effect to the environment.