Everyone experiences being a leader at some point in their life. However, not everyone is good at leading others. What do you think are the qualities of a good leader?

The role of a leader is something which inspires everyone to follow his/her footsteps and encourages every person to dream more, learn more and achieve more. Leaders instill in people a hope for success and a belief in themselves. Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other. A person who has immense grasp of the topic, has the required experience and has the ability to motivate people can become a successful leader. I feel that the role of a leader is very pivotal and comes with a lot of responsibility. In my opinion, the ability to think rationally and practicing what you preach are two primary qualities that a leader must have.

Talking about the first quality i.e. to think rationally is in my view indispensable for any leader. The ability to take correct decisions and to take them quickly are the qualities of an excellent leader. When I think about taking the correct decisions at the correct time only one name comes to my mind is that of the Indian cricket captain MS Dhoni. His thinking abilities are so superior and in favor of the team that he gets successful most of the times while taking critical decisions on the field. His ability to lead from the front and taking the team along with him are truly inspiring and motivating. So, I feel that thinking practically and being able to take precise decisions at crunch positions are crucial in shaping of a good leader.

The second most important quality is practicing what you preach. I feel this quality is important because I have seen several leaders in various fields not doing what they tell other team members to do. For example, I remember when I was doing a group project in my semester recently. Our group leader was so laid back and complacent that he only ordered people do to things rather than showing us how to do. His attitude towards the team was so unpleasant that I never got the motivation or zeal for doing the work. Had he uplifted our team by cheering or motivating us we would have been able to do a much better job. So, that is why I feel that a leader should always push his teammates in achieving more and be a source of encouragement.

Therefore, in conclusion I feel that taking along the team by keeping their morale high and thinking about the team rationally are the two most important characteristics of a good leader.