The expression “Never, never give up” means to keep trying and never stop working for your goals. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe they should not give up before they get desired results. However, I disagree with the statement for several reasons. Defining the motto, “Never, never give up”, precisely is an important thing you should do. In my opinion, it means that you should give up when you have tried the best and have used all of your ability.

Initially, you should consider what can be given up and what cannot when there are other obstacles that you can face inevitably. For example, when my family was travelling in New Zealand, my grandfather really wanted to go whale seeing in Kaikoura. Unfortunately, the weather was so bad that the whale-seeing boat cannot leave its pier. After waiting for four hours doing nothing, my grandfather decided to give up this activity and continued the journey, despite the fact that it is one of his bucket-list things, because we had to go on driving and reach Christchurch before sunset. This example shows that you have to give up one thing that you want because there are some limitations which you cannot control or change. In this case, there were the weather and the limited time.

In addition, giving up something does not mean you fail. Sometimes, you have been successful, but you have not noticed your achievement yet. For instance, I attended a swimming competition when I was 13. I wanted a gold medal once in that year, so I practiced very hard. However, I got a silver medal instead. At that moment, I learned that my performance had been a lot better than before. Therefore, you may have improved yourself, someone or something around you along the path since the beginning. I would call this a success even though you cannot meet your desired goal.

Furthermore, you can have a good result although your goal is not fulfilled. Giving up your goal might give some unexpected consequences, but you can be surprisingly satisfied with those results. This may be a way that you can discover new experience and have happiness.

In conclusion, I believe you should not be stubborn for all of your goals. Some of them can be given up due to different circumstances. Therefore, the statement “never give up” should be considered and used properly. Trying your best is great, but it should be to some extent.