The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

In the modern era, the family is regarded as a crucial factor contributing to the thriving of people in individual and social aspects of their lives. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the importance of our relatives in our lives. Some people adhere to the view that grandparents had more pivotal roles in the past, while others believe they play more profound roles in contemporary time. Ego, when it comes to my stance, by weighing up various facets, I firmly hold that the extended family is more important now. In what follows, I will cogently pinpoint my most conspicuous reasons to justify my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that families have become less crowded in comparison to the past, so the links between the members have become stronger. Since people used to have many children, it was hard to be acquainted with all of your aunt's and uncle's kids and stablish connection with each of them. However, we are exposed to fewer relatives now, which introduces us to more quality time to spend with each of them. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I am the only child, and I have a cousin who does not have any siblings as well. When we go to each other's houses, we spend most of our time talking about different matters, and we are incredibly intimate. On the other hand, my mom does not even know the name of some of her cousins because they are too many to be remembered.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that less populated family increases the duties of each member so that sometimes they need assistance from outside to aid them in their responsibilities. Two or three decades ago, parents could go out to do their jobs and gave the responsibility of taking care of the kids to the older ones. However, now, they have to rely on their close relatives to babysit for them. For instance, when I was a kid, because of some financial problems, my mother could not afford to send me to kindergarten. So, she put me at my aunt's house every day for almost seven years while she went to work. In fact, during those days, I was in touch with my aunt and cousins more than my mother so that my cousins were more like brothers and sisters to me. Thus, not receiving my aunt's help, we could not survive that predicament.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that nowadays, the extended family has become more accentuated in our lives than before. This is because families with less population can not resolve some of their troubles on their own, so they need extra assistance. Besides, the lower population gives us more opportunities to be intimate with our relatives.