Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, the Internet is regarded as a key factor contributing to the development of society. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the utilization of this powerful tool and the ramifications of its widespread exploitation in various fields. Many people adhere to the view that the knowledge obtained through the Internet is not necessarily good and may violate people’s privacy in some cases, while the Internet proponents believe that the information will help us to overcome our problems. I strongly support the idea that Information is valuable. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, I think the Internet forces people, especially politicians, to observe their behavior. When somebody knows that he is under surveillance and others may be aware of his actions, he will try not to commit any mistakes. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About 6 years ago, some of the corrupt individuals in our government smuggled some illegal commodities into the country and sold them with high prices. However the television and newspapers were under the influence of these criminals, their names were published in our online social media like facebook. As a result, people began to ask our courts to sentence them for their crimes. After a while, they became arrested and now they are in jail. I believe if it wasn’t for the Internet, these people would have continued their villainy and also it stopped others from joining them.

Secondly, it can resolve some of our difficulties in life. When we don’t know the answer to a problem, the first thing that comes into our minds is looking for it on the Internet. In fact, this approach has become so common that the verb “google” is added to the dictionary, and illustrates the integration of our lives with the virtual world. For example, 2 years ago, I was driving from my hometown in the east to Yazd in the middle section of Iran. It was hot summer noon and the road was virtually empty. Suddenly, I found out that I had a flat tire and didn’t know how to fix it. I googled my situation and watched a tutorial about changing the tire. After an hour, I was driving on the road again with a giant smile on my face showing my satisfaction about what had happened.

In conclusion, I think the pervasive use of the Internet is a good phenomenon. I believe this way because it stops the corruption in the society, and also provides accessible information for us to overcome some of our hardships.