Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

In the modern era, friendship is regarded as a crucial factor contributing to the various aspects of people’s lives. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the depth of the friendships that people establish. Many people adhere to the view that having a plethora of friends assists us to become a successful person, while others prefer acquiring just a few friends. Ego, when it comes to my perspective, by weighing up the pros and cons, I firmly hold that having a few friends with stronger friendship bonds is better. In what follows, I cogently pinpoint my most conspicuous reasons to justify my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that deeper bonds with fewer people gives us friends that we can trust. Building up trust takes a lot of time and endauver. Trusting our friends let us share our feelings and concerns with them and ask about their opinion without being judged. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Four years ago, when I was preparing for the university entrance exam, I suffered from depression. I did not want others to know about it because I did not like to be treated with pity. I told my situation to one of my friends. He faced it logically and aided me to overcome my problem.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that if you have a lot of friends, your responsibilities will be increased as well. When we connect with others, some expectations would be formed around our relationships. We are expected to be there for them anytime they need us. As a result, we will become too busy to do our major responsibilities. For instance, three years ago, one of my friends, named Reza, moved into Tehran to attend unviersity. He tried to make a lot of friends in the first days and succeed. Although he was happy of having plenty of people around, he did not have any time for studying because he spent a considerable part of his spare time with them. As a result, he failed two courses in that semester.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that having limited connections with others is much more beneficial than being cramped by other people. This is because you will have more time with less responsibilities. Plus, you can trust your friends for sharing your concerns with them.