Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, traveling is regarded as a key factor contributing to the development of the culture and experiences of societies. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the necessity of putting a person in charge to make the general decisions for the crowd. Many people adhere to the view that the group’s affairs can be handled by each individual, while others think it is essential to have somebody who can choose what is good for the group and others obey him. I strongly believe that a group needs a leader. I presume this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a tour leader knows the environment and has plenty of experience so he can provide us with a convenient travel plan. If we travel without somebody who knows what to do and where to go, we waste a lot of time to look for proper places to go. Also, we might miss some of the available places. My own experience is a compelling example of this. 4 years ago, I and my family traveled to Isfahan for the first time. Isfahan is a well-known city in Iran for its great historical monuments and artifacts; because it is an ancient town and also had been the capital of Iran for decades. Knowing these facts, we were so excited about our journey and we listed some places to visit. A year after our travel, I became acquainted with a person that was originally from Isfahan and told him about my trip to his hometown. Then, he named some extra places and asked me if we had visited them. Because they are known just by locals and tour guides, I had no clues of them and I felt so sad because of not visiting those places.

Second, a guide can design a plan to satisfy everybody and there will be no need for the group to separate into other smaller groups. The diversity of opinions and tastes of the people in a group makes it hard to keep everyone happy. Because some of them want shopping while others might prefer going to a museum and this attitude can cause arguments between them. For example, 10 years ago, I traveled to Mecca with my grandmother and my mother. I was not interested in religious stuff and desired to go to shops and malls to buy toys for myself. On the other hand, my grandmother and my mother wanted to be in the mosque all the time and didn’t pay attention to my pleas. As a result, we ended up fighting and shouting at each other and I didn’t talk to them until the end of our trip. Now that I’m thinking, if we had a leader, we could all our trip and make a good memory out of it.

In conclusion, I’m of the opinion that a tour leader is necessary for a group. I think this way because he knows all the places and can arrange a plan to visit everything, and he can satisfy the variety of desires of the people in the group.