Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to

In the modern era, being independent is regarded as a crucial factor contributing to the thriving of people in their social and individual lives. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the comparison between the pivotal influence of parents in adolescents' lives then and now. Some people adhere to the view that nowadays, adults are more dependent on their parents than in the past, while others believe that they can make their own decisions without the support of their parents now. I firmly agree with the latter group. In what follows, I will cogently pinpoint my most conspicuous reasons to justify my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that parents are not the most intimate people for teenagers anymore. In ancient times, teenagers spent a lot of time with their parents and considered them as the most influential parts of their lives. However, today's youngsters tend to spend more time with their close friends which make them get further from their parents, so they think they can handle their problems with the help of friends or on their own. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About four years ago, although all of the hardships, I decided to move to another city to attend university. Because I did not spend much time with my mother before, I knew I could deal with my problems without any proponent. While I knew my father chose to be near his family when he wanted to pick his university.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that by the development of the Internet, people seek the solution for their difficulties in the search bar of web browsers. Decades ago, adults trusted their parents' experiences to come up with proper solutions to their strains. However, people have access to a plethora of information and resources through the Internet, which brings them more independence. For instance, when I wanted to select a field to continue my study at the university, I did not ask for my parents' assistance. Instead, I looked up the potential majors that covered my interests with good markets in the future. As a result, I opted for Computer Engineering despite my parents' disapproval. Gradually, they have become acquainted with the advantages of my notable and abundant job potentials in the future, so they are happy with my decision.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that people are becoming less dependent on their families. This is because parents are not the most important and influential people in our lives, plus we can solve our principal dilemmas using the Internet.