Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The ability to determine the course of one's existence is probably the single most obvious right every person posesses. After all, what distinguishes human beings from similar animals is that we are able to make decisions based on our mental capabilities. This is particularly of utmost importance when a youngster is attempting to decide how his/her plan for days ahead is going to be. In my view, in the past young people were not allowed to independently set out their plans for their futures. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, social norms and established hierarchies in numerous societies were enormous obstacles on the way of the youth's right to self-determination. To be more specific, it was widely viewed inappropriate if a juvenile desired to act without parents' authorization. The story of my grandmother clearly illustrates this point. At age 13, she was compelled in a way, to marry a person 23 years older than her. This, by nowadays standards is a complete catastrophe and indeed illegal in most countries, however this practice was unfortunately commonplace at that time. As a result of this, she had to bear an immensely unfortunate living just because of the fact that her parents thought they were choosing the best for their daughter and her husband will usher in a wonderful chapter in her life.

Furthermore, in this day and age due to the blitizing rate of technological advances and widespread ever-increasing access to quality education, younger generations are comparatively better equiped with necessary knowledge to encounter challenges and opt the best possible approaches accordingly. Moreover, the expansion of women's social involvement in societies along with political accomplishments such as women suffrage in various nations have rendered more tolerant and sympathetic communities. For instance, had it not been for my mother's insistence, my younger sister would have never had a chance to be graduated from a prestigious university so as to pursue a career in mechanical engineering. She could have simply made the same blunder that her ancestors did and comply with my father's conservative view that she ought not to apply for a university under any circumstance.

In sum, in my humble opinion, we all owe an eternal debt of gratitude to people who went before us to unravel archaic beliefs about the fact that younger individuals shall not make crucial decisions regarding their own lives simply since they do not know enough yet.