Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Entertainment and playing is an important part of our lives as children. Having a so much free time and being exempt from many of adulthood responsibilities enables children to spend a great deal of their time playing. Some believe that playing computer games is a waste of time thus children should not be allowed to play them. In my opinion, playing video games can indeed have a positive role in the development of the character of a child for two key reasons.

First, playing these types of games activates children mind significantly. While playing, they get to experience a large spectrum of feelings such as fear, happiness, confusion etc. This will, in turn, help alleviate some of the pressure that usually exist in children's mind especially at the early stages of their education where they first face the concept of seriousness in a classroom environment. I remember when I was in the first grade of elementary school I had a personal computer which I used to play whenever I felt anxious because of the heavy burden of my homework. That helped me to get more balanced and rested so I could try doing my assignments once again. As you can see, playing video games can have meaningful benefits in diverting negative emotions free one's mind which is of great importance in the turbulent years of childhood.

Second, as surprising as it may sound, video games can actually be a potential source of education and learning. Nowadays, When you play video games you do not merely enjoy playing but rather get exposed to a massive amount of information. For instance, I recently bought a PlayStation 4 video gaming counsel. One of the most popular games That is played intensely in this platform is Battlefield 1. Having a marvelous gameplay and spectacular gameplay is of course among the many strengths that this game has. However, I was particularly attracted to it owing to the fact that it meticulously depicts numerous battles and events of the first world war. Being a huge history fan, playing one of the best game titles available in which a whole fantastic historical period is illustrated is of additional pleasure. I am amazed by all the knowledge presented in that game. As a matter of fact, it has even motivated me to further study world war 1 to get a better picture of the game and that rather obscure period of history. This experience taught me the unexpected role that playing video games can have on educating people.

In sum, though some may oppose, I firmly hold this view that video games might have a constructive contribution to children mental abilities and knowledge. Not only they will give them the chance to reboot their brains or even dispose of undesirable feelings but also they can assist children in further informing themselves. In the end, I think children should not be barred from paying video games while a limited control over the time they spent on playing will not be hurtful.