Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Watching Television is one the most important early experiences nowadays children have with their surrounding environment. Sometimes the shows and programs that one watches as a child might have long lasting effect on the memory of that person. While some believe that T.V advertising should not be directed towards young children aged two to five others disagree. In my opinion, there are no major problems for children to be exposed to advertising for two key reasons.

First, watching television as a whole and advertising, in particular, might help them with developing their understanding abilities by strengthening their perception. There are lots of songs, poems and famous characters from cartoons that mostly appear on these ads. Children in that age group will certainly have a chance to enhance their verbal ability. I remember when I was around 5 years old there was a very popular show on television every Saturday called Ranginkaman. Like many other children at my age, I was absolutely amazed by that wonderful programs. The main character of that show was a puppet named Chera. He would sing beautiful songs and had many stories to tell that were intriguing for many us. One day I saw Chera in one of the ads shown prior to the main show which was, as far as I can remember, introducing a new lego toy featuring Chera and other characters from Ranginkaman. All of a sudden, I began singing just about every song I had ever listened to in the show. Unintentionally I had memorized all of them and now I was able to sing them all. As you can see, tv ads can sometimes have a powerful stimulating effect on children's minds.

Second, in many cases, the audience of commercials designed for children are not children themselves. Parents are sometimes the target of ads and for good reason. Imagine you want to buy a certain product for your children and do not have the time to go to a nearby store to ask about different products or their feature. If so, one the best places you can gain crucial information about various brands is the television. My mother always tells me about a car I wanted to have when I was a preschooler. I had seen a huge plastic car that one of my friends had, which had pedals and wheels that enabled it to move around like a normal car the only difference being in the fact that it didn't have an engine. I insisted on having one, but the problem was that my parents didn't know where to buy one. They looked for it in many local stores but couldn't find one. After a week or so the same car was featured on a tv ad with a telephone number to order one. That was a big relief for all of us and of course had it not been because of that particular commercial I wouldn't have my pretty looking car ever.

In sum, while many might disagree I think that tv advertisements designated for children can be used positively. Not only they help perceptual and verbal capabilities of a child but also assist parents in choosing the right products for their beloved children. So that why I hold the opinion that children should be allowed to watch tv commercials owning to the fact that they can learn a lot from it.