Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having access to a vast ocean of accumulated human knowledge is an important part of our lives. We all need to be informed for various purposes such as decision making, researching or simply out of basic curiosity. Whatever the reason, crucial role of information cannot be overstated. Some believe that too much access to information can be a source of concern, while others hold the view that the advent of internet and consequent information burst is a positive phenomenon. In my view, there are more to be wary of about this seismic change in the way we get our information than to celebrate, for two key reasons.

First, internet has proven to be quiet addictive especially for younger people. through numerous ways youth get excessively involved with the internet, the most notable of which are online games and social networks. For instance, one my friends in college who was in everyone's view was impressively talented, began to fail gradually in his courses. In a matter of months, he went from being the top students and a potential candidate to represent the college in international olympiads to a below average one who struggled mostly not to fail in any subject. Everybody in the mechanical engineering department from professors to other students, were confused. After a while the reason behind this catastrophic decline became evident. He was spending a staggering 6 hours a day on social networks. Facebook, Twitter and Instagram consumed most of his time during the day. As you can see, too much exposure to information through internet can be a huge distraction for even the brightest among us.

Second, by the massive amount of information being available online there is less tendency among people to refer to authentic sources and to the hard work required for a proper research. Why bother to go through many pages of original copies of encyclopedias or other valuable textbooks while you can get what you require by just visiting a not much credited website. For instance, when at my last year in university, i was assigned to form a group in order to conduct a research on a specific problem in cell proliferation, i was the only one in the group to study in detail all the necessary background knowledge about the cell. Others in the meantime tried to take a shortcut by merely looking for preliminary data about how the cell growth process was completed. Unfortunately owing to this, our group made serious mistakes during the experimental stages of the research and were forced to abort the entire project.

In sum, though some might think that increased access to information is valuable without any conditions, I hold the view that it can have some significant detrimental effects on human lives. Not only does it endanger the lives of younger people if used without restraints but also it can have reprecussions in the way scientific research is conducted.