Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Success in general and financial prosperity, in particular, depends on various factors. From things beyond human control such as pure chance to conscious decisions like being punctual all help determine whether or not a person is likely to succeed. Taking risks though is probably one of the most controversial features that associate with business success.Some believe that it is imperative in order for one to flourish financially, to be willing to take risks while others disagree. In my view, being prepared to do what others are reluctant to, makes all the difference. I have two specific reasons for that opinion which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, ordinary actions or solutions often lead to ordinary results.After all, Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result is the definition of insanity. Moreover, just trying to" be like Romans when Rome" will eventually prevent an individual to be clairvoyant enough to be able to detect possible opportunities that might present themselves during one's life. A compelling example of this is my uncle. Like many of his friends back in high school, he applied for a university in his city. Being a talented student, he managed to be enrolled in the most prestigious institution there. The problem was that he was and still is, unwilling to take any chances or do anything beyond the accepted norms. As a result, upon his graduation, he ignored a great number of possible chances to initiate his own business and instead opted to work for a huge a company. However, His friends who were not as acute started companies of their own and as you might have guessed are far more successful in their work than him.

Secondly, humans have always looked for new things: innovations which could change their lives for the better. Of course, no scientific breakthrough or any industrial development can become a reality without having the courage to dispel with routine conventions. For instance, Bill Gates, the founder of multinational computer giant, Microsoft, dropped out of college only to pursue a career in the unknown world of computers in a time when the prospect of this newborn industry was obscure at best. Nevertheless, through sheer force of determination, a vision exonerated from rigid structures or norms and a keen perception of his surrounding environment, he did the unimaginable. The most wealthy man ever lived on earth is also an adventurer who is ready to swim against the river. Breaking the rules where they are in his way of progress is his rule.

In sum, I hold the opinion that venturing or taking risks are necessary components of attaining success. Not only do ordinary things yield normal results, but also innovations are the key to prosperity.