Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the age of modern information technology, having access to accurate news about unfolding events unfolding has become increasingly important. As a whole, life is moving at a quicker pace probably than any other time in history and this is in large part due to the unhindered flow of information. Though some might believe other wise, In my opinion, it is comparatively more appropriate if one is able to be informed through various news outlets. I hold this view for two main reasons which I will explore in this essay.

To begin with, Not all the resources or venues that are in the business of broadcasting news can always be trusted. The authors some time might have a hidden agenda or in the best case scenario not well-informed about the events. Moreover, there is always the possibility of rumors or fake information be taken seriously if the source of the news is not valid. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Around a year ago when a giant sky scraper fell apart in the city where I live because of spreading fire, I recall that everyone had a different account of what had actually happened. Some would say that around a hundred people died while others would tell you that the building had not collapsed at all. This was mostly so since lots of the news about this tragic occurrence was coming from unverified internet sources, which have gained massive popularity where I live. Of course, that leads to a great deal of confusion and it took days before the official explanation of what had happened came out.

Secondly, some pieces of news are related to a specific field or expertise thus, are not covered extensively. Normal news outlets such as newspapers or websites often times intend to highlight events that are appealing to the general public. Consequently, they might not allocate enough time or effort to cover such developments as thoroughly as possible. For instance, a major scientific breakthrough in physics which has helped to explain the cause of a previously unknown phenomenon, may not have a long lasting attraction to ordinary individuals who have little interest in what implications this discovery can have. On the other hand, experts, professors, students or any other person who is involved in academic matters related to physics is certainly willing to be deeply informed about multifarious aspects of this event. Therefore it seems reasonable for this group of people to get relevant information from sources who share the same interest and have adequate knowledge about the mentioned finding.

In sum, I hold the view that it is better if one tries to expand the range of sources where he/she reads news from. Not only will it prevent any possible confusion, but also it is helpful if you want to get specific information about a certain subject.