Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Younger generations of people in every country are among one of the most precious resources that a nation possesses. The backbone of a society's economy, labor force, and its very existence all depend upon the individuals in This age bracket. In my view, in this day and age, it is becoming increasingly predominant to ignore the will of the youth and alienate them from crucial decision-making processes. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the majority of influential figures in most communities, such as politicians, local authorities or policy makers, are well beyond the fourth and fifth decades of their lives. As a matter of fact, where I reside, a great percentage of elected representatives in the Parliament along with other key government-related institutions do not come from the more energized and the younger portion of the population. This is regrettable since as a direct result of this, progressive ideas which can truly transform the living conditions of many are being suppressed or have given way to a more conservative-leaning mentality. This, in turn, has rendered a circumstance that the juvenile find it tremendously challenging to climb up the socio-economic ladder.

Furthermore, some might argue that experience is the essential attribute of an authority since inexperienced younger individuals simply lack the ability to handle intricate social or political situations. While this argument is not without merit, it cannot justify the fact that the elderly control all vital positions in governing the society. The passion that youngsters have about learning and distinguishing themselves, contributes significantly to invigorating the society as a whole. In addition, policies reflecting the needs and desires of this group of people will not be enacted unless some among them are empowered to do so. For instance, I remember prior to the appointment of a relatively young mayor in our city the conditions in many of the centers designed for younger individuals were abysmal. Consequently, the mayor reallocated some less needed budget from comparatively unimportant activities to these places. The result, of course, was astoundingly positive and all of a sudden those centers were crowded thus were able to flourish.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I strongly hold the view that today the youth do not a have say in their own lives as a result of which, there is an urgent need for change. this.