Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The period in one's life that is often referred to as young adulthood is perhaps one of the most crucial durations in an individual existence. Throughout these years, fundamental traits and points of views are solidified in teens' mind, making them ready to mature and become full grown adults. In my view, it is of utmost importance that parents assist their teenage children so that they can get involved in a part-time job at that age. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, taking a job (preferably not a full-time one) will present a great opportunity for teenagers to gain an invaluable experience early on in their life. To be more specific, they will become familiar with the principal differences of the working environment with what they had experienced in their homes. How to run a business, when to ask your boss for a leave, how is increasing your efficiency possible and many others are among numerous nuances that no school will ever teach students, and are necessary for one to become successful at a career.

Secondly, having an occupation while still being an adolescent will encourage a number of constructive characteristics and behaviors in a person. Financial accountability, being one of those, is an ability that an adult does not possess, might lead to catastrophic mistakes or unnecessary expenses. For instance, my father who I personally admire for his fiscal adroitness always used to tell me about how being involved in a partial vocation allowed him to conceive the true merit of money. Being 13 when first selling hamburgers at a local fast food restaurant, was, of course, challenging for him but a price worth paying. He soon understood that he ought not to waste his hard-earned cash on things that are not really required. Instead, a tendency for saving and accurately investing his capital on small scale ventures that could make profits for him began to develop in him. Consequently, at age 21 he was able to buy an apartment of his own and during his time at college, he would support his parents financially. As you can see, Had it not been for his efforts as a teenager to enter the job market, he would not have been able to become independent at such an age.

In sum, while some may disagree, I strongly hold the view that young adults should seek a part-time occupation as soon as possible. Not only will it have a positive influence on their later life as adults who have full-time careers, but also this is going to leave a long-lasting positive effect on their personality.