Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Getting high scores is seen by many as the primary indicator by which one's academic success can be measured. Like it or not, we all, as students have been under a certain amount of pressure to excel in our classes which its main route seems to be attaining exceptional marks. In my view, while some may disagree, it is of great importance that school-age children be rewarded for their effort by money be given to them or any other appropriate form. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, determining specific goals or marks along with setting a prize for achieving them will be a powerful incentive for children to study to the best of their abilities. To be more specific, the seemingly unpleasant experience of studying, comparing to playing with friends or other enjoyable activities, can become desirable for children if they are motivated by a reward. For instance, I remember when I was in the first grade of high school, a sense of depression and lack of purpose was overwhelming me. Increasingly, focusing on my classes or studying, in general, were becoming pointless for me. As a result of this, my parents decided to encourage me by promising to buy a play station 3, which had recently been released and extremely expensive at that point. Being so passionate about having such a cool device all for myself, I was greatly inspired to get my act together in order to get a top score in my upcoming exams. The result was a tremendous success in all my courses with some of the best grade I had ever received and of course lots of fun playing with PS3!

Secondly, by conditioning the money handed out to children only when they have demonstrated their hard-working capabilities, they are indirectly introduced to the system actually governs the real outside environment. Moreover, As a by-product of this process, they will learn that they are required to produce results so as to bestowed upon money. A comparison between my own personality and that of my brother is a good example of this. I was always given some sort of motivation for getting good marks by parents and in most cases that helped me to distinguish myself at school or to be among top students. On the contrary, my brother for some unknown reasons to me was not under the same strict control that I was in terms of my educational situation. Consequently, he has regrettably, been unable to gain acceptable marks during most of his years at secondary school.

In conclusion, I hold the opinion that It is incumbent upon parents to incentivize their children by any means possible, including giving them money, to do well at school. Not only will it encourage them to be more achieving students thus providing them with a better future, but also they will be familiarized with the true nature of how the adult world functions.