Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children(five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The development of any country is greatly dependent upon the investment it makes on its citizens. Without a properly funded education system, juveniles may not be able to discover their talents which is, in turn, a missed opportunity for the whole society. While this varies among various countries and is not a trivial issue, In my view, it is incumbent upon governments to put more emphasis on the education of the very young children than on universities' funding. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, children constitute the foundation of the future generation. To be more specific, today's progenies are tomorrow's adults who are going to contribute to the collective efforts of members of the community in order to render a brighter future. As a result of this, the quality of their education can be relatively more significant than the already matured university students. For instance, my cousin who lives in Finland and is nine years old is studying at a primary school there. While Finland might not be the highest ranking country in terms of its universities, it is certainly the world's pioneer in providing quality education for schoolers. As far as I know about my cousin's condition there, one can only be envious of it. Every aspect and detail of teaching process is cared for, resulting in a situation which students studying in there can only thrive. Consequently, young adults who graduate from high schools in such a delicate system, are among the most productive and behaviorally fit individuals.

Secondly, students and schools do not have as many available sources of income as university students or academic institutions have. In other words, they are increasingly vulnerable to any financial hardships that might face them, thus require more assistance from the government. A personal experience of mine is a good example of this. When I was eight years old I got transferred to a public school since my parents could not anymore, afford to send me to a private one. Being a complete stranger in this new environments was challenging for me especially at a time when the school itself was struggling with a massive deficit in its budget. In fact, owing to this destitute situation, they were compelled to sack many of capable instructors we had and even cut the spending on some of the most basic needs of students such as launch programs that were vital for low-income families. No meaningful change happened until the mayor ordered public funding be allocated to the school in order to improve the abysmal conditions there.

In sum, I strongly hold the view that while it might differ in some industrialized nations, it is of greater importance for the governments to financially look after younger children education. Not only are they the future of the country, but also they will be damaged far more than university students if not sufficiently funded for their education.