Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the most obvious ways by which one can ensure a decent standard of living and a relatively prosperous life is obtaining a kind of job that is going to be providing enough income and be stable sufficiently at the same time. Without such a career, it depends on chance or some exceptional talents that one might possess, to earn a sufficient living. In my view, in the past, it was much more convenient to identify what type of occupation would yield a desirable future than is the case today. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, back then this ferocious competition in the job market did not exist. To be more specific, Nowadays there is an over supply of over-qualified applicants for many job openings. As a result, getting a high paying job in one's field of interest has become increasingly challenging. My father's experience is a good example of this. Upon graduation from a moderate university, he sought to work in a local newspaper as a reporter. Having no prior experience as a professional reporter he was amazed how many offers he received from even some prestigious publications. The reason for such a warm reception was, of course, lack of people who applied for such a position. Consequently, these news organizations would employ young inexperienced journalists and even proposed courses to train them. My father, therefore, was able to transform into a proficient writer, earning him a worthy career.

Secondly, Because of the massive rise in population and resulting soar in demands for almost every possible goods and services, companies have expanded their production capabilities while hiring more workers. However, many of this vast entities do not pay a high salary. Thus finding a job, as was the case in the past, cannot guarantee a relaxing life. For instance, my uncle who is currently studying abroad had to get a part-time job in order to afford his personal expenses. Not having a work permit he was forced to get employed- illegally- in a fast food restaurant for a while. According to him the conditions there were abysmal. Many workers including legally-hired ones, had to work extended hours without any benefits or extra pay. Furthermore, owing to the fact that there were hundreds of individuals waiting in line for a vacancy there, most of the employees were paid the minimum wage, which was not anywhere near enough to provide for a single person's expense in a month.

In sum, I hold the view that in this day and age it is tremendously difficult to predict what kind of profession will result in a bright future for one. Not only is it extremely challenging to procure a job that gets you enough money, but also getting many of the available jobs will not bring about a successful life.