Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure successful future Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Although a fast-growing society provides more job opportunities than before, it is uncertain to specify secure and successful ones due to changing job market and technical skills required by different jobs. Thus, I strongly believe that we can effortlessly know what type of career has the potential to be successful and gives us a sense of security in the past. I feel this way for two following reasons.

For one thing, because the job opportunities offered by different industries and companies in the past were limited, the higher paid and stable job was more predictable. To be more specific, it was clear that the economy was not as robust as today’s society, so people in the past did not own many choices of job. Without various options to interfere with our judgment, a secure and prosperous career was evident for people to identify. Drawing from my mom’s experience, when she graduated from college, there were limited job choices for her. She finally decided to be a Chinese teacher in primary school, as a teacher was a notable job for stable and respectful back then. According to my mom, the well-known secure and successful jobs were lawyers, teachers, and doctors, which all were stable and high-paid. However, countless jobs are well-paid nowadays because of the robust economy and increasing demands in a different area, and people also tend to change diverse jobs frequently to gain more skills and experience. Therefore, it is an obstacle for today’s people to determine which type of career is secure and more successful.

For another, less competition in the workforce in the past resulted in obvious answers in secure and successful jobs. In detail, due to fewer people gained a high-quality education and few universities were supported by the government in the past, a successful graduated student from a college or university can easily get a high-paid job with less or even without competition. For instance, upon my father graduated from university, he got four offers from different newspapers, even some prestigious publications. However, things come different when my brother wants to be a reporter like my father. Because now everyone has access to higher education, and there are hundreds of individuals waiting in line for a vacancy there, a journalist is not considered as a secure and successful career anymore. Thus, people realize that it is difficult for them to spot a stable and well-paid job because of higher competition in each field.

In conclusion, compared to unpredictable career changes of today’s world, identifying a secure and successful career was simpler in the past because there were limited job choices and less competition in the labor force.