What is the most important factor for students to succeed at university or college 1 university tutors individual instructions to help solve students problems 2 encouragement from family and friends 3 high quality education and excellent teachers in the h

There are many methods to help the students’ get success in their studies. Personally, I tend to choose a high-quality education in high school as the most important factor in helping students’ success, which lays a solid knowledge base for students when they enter universities.

First of all, having access to the university tutors for help may hamper the students independent learning process. We can image if a student can receive individual instructions from their tutor for some difficult homework, the student may be unwilling to think any difficult problems they encountered in their assignments. Besides, there are abundant online learning resources nowadays for students, they can use them to find the answers homework. Instead of independent thinking and searching other helpful materials, students may get used to direct help from their tutor and lose the chance to learn independently. Thus, the students may not be able to make success in their university study.

Secondly, although support and encouragement of family and friends are significant in our whole life, they are not the most necessary factor in students’ achievement. When a student goes into university, the difficulties he or she meets in homework cannot be easily solved just by any support and encouragement. Then, the advantages of support and encouragement from family and friends are limited in students’ study. For instance, I had a serious cold when I was freshman in my university and I had to apply sick leave for one month, which lagged my study behind. I was so uneasy and anxious and the support and comforts from my family and friends were not a relief for me. Everything went smoothly when I went back to school and studied hard to catch up my study.

Finally, a high-quality education from excellent teachers in high school is the most crucial factor for helping in students’ success in universities. For one thing, a high-quality of education provide us the basic knowledge we need. For example, when I entered the university in the first year, I found it was quite easy for me to follow the pace of math class, because my high school is famous for its high-quality of math teaching and I performed well in my math back then. Thus, I can easily track any difficulties in my math homework. By contrast, because my high school teachers were not good at English teaching, which resulted my bad performance in English even impeded my understanding of English Literature class in university. For another, a high-quality education in high school would culture the confidence for students, which also helpful in their college study. When students have obstacles in their study, they would tend to believe that they own the ability to solve them. Therefore, the confidence would encourage them to find the answers for their problems and they would be more confident when they succeed. In this way, this good cycle continues.

To conclusion, an individual tutor and encouragement from others are not the most crucial factors in helping students’ success in university, because students may become more dependent supported by these methods. However, I believe that a high-quality in high school helps students’ success in university by providing them a sound knowledge base and more confidence to solve problems in their study.