Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Feeling comfortable and being at ease is something that probably most of us strive for during our lifetime. Without that feeling, life can be extremely exhausting and few would be able to tolerate it. Some believe that life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when our grandparents were children while others may disagree. In my view, life has become significantly more convenient for two major reasons.

The main reason is that technological advances during the 20th century have been exceptionally occurring at a rapid rate. That has, in turn, provided us with a relatively more comfortable and relaxing life. For instance, inventions such as internet, vaccination and numerous others have truly transformed the way we live, mostly for good. I remember reading an autobiography of a famous merchant in my country who has gathered an accurate record of his everyday life and through it has provided his readers with a transparent overview of what life was like around 100 years ago. It might seem unbelievable but some curable diseases were huge catastrophes at that time. As a matter of fact, around half of the population of my country Iran vanished because of these illnesses such as cholera. daily life was not easy either. Simple tasks that can be done in a matter of seconds nowadays were drastically toilsome and time-consuming. Shopping, for instance, could have been a major difficulty since lots of commodities were not available in local markets and one had to travel a long distance to acquire what was needed. This was additionally difficult owing to the fact that means of transportation were limited and in most cases too slow.

Another reason why life today has become more convenient is the abundance of about everything we need as humans to survive which was brought about by the efficient division of labor and industrial revolution. Today we don't have to spend hours doing repetitive activities in order to satisfy our basic needs thus we are left with more available time to allocate to various other beneficial things like education.For instance, I remember when I was a child, maybe around 5-6 years old, my grandfather used to tell me stories about how life was when he was younger. He would tell me about the hardship they had to endure just about every day only to obtain water. They basically had to go to a spring or a river in their proximity with a large bucket in their hands to fill. It is not hard to imagine that they had to do it many times since water is used extensively in our daily lives. That notified me about the real calamity they had to face in their everyday life even for simplest matters.

In sum, while some may not buy into this idea, life is much more convenient and enjoyable today than few generations ago. Not only massive technological progress but also the surplus of different resources have contributed to this improvement. I believe that we all should be grateful for this opportunity and use it to the best of ability to foster a better a quality of life for generations to come.