In the future, students may have the choice of studying at home by using technology such as computers or television or of studying at traditional schools. Which would you prefer? Use reasons and specific details to explain your choice.

Technology is diversifying at an unprecented rate and there is no aspect of life that is untouched by it. It has deeply penetrated into our daily lives and revolutionized some areas forever - changed car industry completely, developed gadgets that we could not have imagine and increased our health standards substantially. In the recent times, education sector is witnessing an immense influx of technology that has changed the relationship of teachers and students significantly. From hardcover books to digital textbooks and from inclass lectures to online courses, schools are facing an incredible amount of pressure by the technology. At such a point of time, one is compelled to think whether conventional schools be replaced by modern computers and television? I believe that no matter how outdated schools may sound, no technology can replace them. To bolster my opinion, I have cited examples and situation which proove that schools are the better form of learning.

Firstly, online courses such as MOOC (free courses) are gaining traction in the young generation who prefer to learn at their convinient place and time. A lot of websites and companies are providing a platheora of courses ranging from kindergarden lessons to advanced mathematics, thereby giving a stiff competition to the schools and institutions. However, they can not replace the classroom teaching as they lack essential elements that are embedded in one to one training. A school teacher understands her students personally and leaves no stone unturned to guide them in the right path be it career or personal. Such a level of interaction can not be obtained by the virtual teachers who are sitting at the other corner of the world.

Secondly, when students go to schools, they get a unique oppurtunity to meet and befriend pupils from different background and cultures. In this way, students learn various aspects of life that parents can not teach. For example, in my high school I got an oppurtunity to interact with an exchange student from Syria. During her one year program, we discussed on numerous topics not limited to cultures, history, arts, and famous monuments. Once I invited her for dinner and she most impressed by the Indian food and hospitality. Remebering this incident, I realized that such oppurtunitites are missing in the online culture of schooling.

Some may argue that by the use of internet technology, we can gain access to plethora of knowledge at home and save our commutation time. I too agree with this view but not completely. Schools not only provide the requisite academic knowledge, but also impart them important lessons namely, leadership qualities, moral education, etc. that are critical in their career ahead.

In the end, people who compare the coverted schools with petty technology and plan to subsitute them forever, should consider again and understand the benefits of classroom training.