Getting advice from older friends is more valuable than from the friends of the same age as yours.

Advice, an essential element in life, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over whether older friends can offer more valuable advice to people than friends of the same age do. Getting advice from friends of similar age, in some people’s views, is preferable. Contrary to these people’s opinions is my perspective that seeking advice from old friends is superior, due to the contribution to personal life and career development.

What must be prioritized is that older friends, rather than friends of similar age, can give us helpful advice about personal life, including diet and stress-eliminating approaches. To begin with, it is the elder friends whose advice about diet is beneficial to people. To be more concise, elderly friends can give people sound advice like eating organic food, whole-grain food, and whole-fiber food, since they lead a wholesome lifestyle; on the other hand, leading an unwholesome lifestyle, friends of similar age cannot offer people advice about food, and even give wrong advice, such as eating sugared soda, chocolate, and dairy products. Furthermore, people can seek advice about how to reduce stress from elderly friends. In detail, older friends, compared with friends of similar age, know numerous stress-shrinking strategies like doing Tai Chi, going hiking, and going jogging, helping people lower stress levels; by contrast, pressure cannot be reduced after people seek advice from friends of the same age, because these friends usually lead a hectic lifestyle and cannot exclude themselves from daily worries and concerns as well.

What is equally worth discussing is that people can get professional advice about career development from older friends, rather than from similar-age friends, including how to secure employment and increase the chances of promotion in career. First of all, elder friends offer people helpful advice about searching for jobs. Specifically, they can teach people how to wear formal attires and convince interviewers, thus allowing people to create a positive impression on interviewers; on the contrary, getting advice about finding jobs from friends of similar age is extremely difficult because they either lack experience or have hard time securing a job. Moreover, never can we ignore that elder friends can give advice about how to increase the chances of promotion in the workplace. To explain it further, their advice will help people earn respect and admiration and win the support and assistance from colleagues, even enabling people to move up the promotion ladder, because elderly friends know how to communicate with different types of workers; in contrast, with similar-age friends lacking communication skill, people cannot get such advice from them.

Personal life, an essential element, will be improved through the advice older friends give. Career development, the foundation for people’s lives, will be facilitated after people ask elderly friends for advice. In conclusion, only through older friends can people get practical advice.