A gift (such as camera, a soccer ball, or an animal) can contribute to a child’s development. What gift would you give to help a child develop? Why?

Frankly, it seems, among many different things that can contribute to a child’s development, very difficult to prefer one to another. From my point of view, each option has its unique advantages. But I would like to buy a pet especially a dog for my children because it has great effects on their development. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First of all, these days, most parents are really busy. They have to work from early in the morning to late at the night. So that, children spend most of their spare time alone in the house. According to the latest researches which were published in well-known journals, spending time alone has negative influences on children. In my opinion, having a dog can help them feel happy and relaxed. They can play with dog, watch television with it or even read books for them. Besides, children can feel safe and danger of robbery or other problems will reduce.

In the second place, children can learn necessary skills such as responsibility and so forth. For example, when I was seven years old, my father bought a dog for me. He taught me how to feed it, bathe it, etc. I always took care of my dog carefully so I learned how to become a responsible person in future.

Last but not least, a pet can encourage young children to exercise. For example, I got used to going to the park near our house and playing with my dog. In my point of view, it was a good entertainment for me during my childhood.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that purchasing a pet for children is a great idea. It will contribute to their developments based on the reasons which I outlined above.