A gift (such as camera, a soccer ball, or an animal) can contribute to a child’s development. What gift would you give to help a child develop? Why?

Children love gifts, in fact, gifts capture their heart easily. The gifts children receive are of great importance since they might help children to use them in favor of their curiosity and foster their creativity. Thus, it is crucial to be careful about buying toys and gifts for children. Some devices like tablets may make them addicted while some useful toys help them develop. If I were to buy something for a kid to develop, I would choose an amateur telescope. The reasons are stated as follows.

To begin with, I believe that kids greatly enjoy using a telescope. Every child has once asked his/her parents about those tiny twinkling stars in the sky, and they may get really surprised when realize they are not only tiny at all, but also are very huge and distant. I think by stargazing through a telescope with their parent, and watching planets and moon, they become eager to find more about celesticals. As a consequent, they will search for information and read related science books and magazines. Using a telescope is not easy in big cities due to excess of light and air pollution , so the whole family have this opportunity to go out of the city for a night and have fun together, while children enjoy a beneficial activity.

Secondly, when a child is presented with such a gift, he or she is so enthusiatic to learn about it. They can go to astronomy fairs and classes that are intended for their age and it will be a valueable foundation for them to follow related sciences in near future. For instance, physics and mathematics are related subjects to astronomy. Pursueing these topics improves their motivation to become great scientists or engineers. Also, conducting experiments by a device such as a telescope, evoke a sense of curiosity in other fields. In other words, children learn to ask questions and challenge those questions.

To sum up, I think that there is no denying the fact that children learn a great deal about the toys or gifts they are given and they play an important role in their devlopment. I think a telescope is a very good gift for a child because he or she will enjoy it and have a great time using it. Also, it encourages the sense of curiosity and asking questions, which in turn makes them an enthusiatic scientist or engineer.