TPO 40: Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some children may be self-motivated in doing their school chores while some may need some external stimulus from their parents. There are many ways to encourage children to study and get better marks at school. While some parents may motivate their children by offering them money, I vigorously discourage this method because of its possible negative effects it might have on children. Below I am going to illustrate my reasons and ideas about this issue.

First, I think offering money for each good grade is a form of early gratification, and early gratification has a negative effect on children's efforts. He or she might think there should be always a financial reward from parents in the result of everything they do, and it destorys the motives for trying to accomplish something for its own good. When this amount of money is not provided by parents they become angry or frustrated and might refuse to study. In my opinion, many better aproaches can be used by parents that encourages childeren more; for example, throwing for an "honor party" and acclaiming the child's progress in front of other people once or twice in a year is a better idea.

Moreover, I believe that after a while, this method might lose its effect on children. Children do not look for money, but they also need attention and practical encouragement. I think they should enjoy the happiness of feeling accomplished. Offering them money, parents steal these valuable feelings that are much more beneficial for their children in future. When grow up, these children may not be so self-motivated to set goals for themeselves and try for them. They become lathargic and even selfish, in my opinion, becausse they expect an instant mundante reward for what they do.

As a conclusion, I do not support giving money to children for their performance at school, because in this way, they will not appreciate other good results of accomplishing something important and useful. They consider studying as a way to receive money, and nothing more. It may convey negative traits in them such as lack of motivation for their future goals. In the long run, I think it is better to utilize other methods in order to keep children motivated.