To complete his or her studies and get a job faster.To study in a major that requires many years of studying but one which would leads to better employment opportunities

Few may doubt the importance of higher education and its impact in other aspects of life, especially on career choosing. Every year, numerous students flood to universities to gain required and sought-after skills of the increasingly competitive job market. Some of them become technicians and some pursue their studies to the zenith of their major and become competent doctors or engineers. It is a matter of debate on which approach is better: graduating from university as soon as possible and join the career, or gain a higher degree and spend more time on studying to have more and better job opportunities? Personally, I recommend my friend the second method and I believe it is a more beneficial idea. I state my reasons on this idea in the following paragraphs.

First of all, I think in first glance it might seem that it is better to end our education as soon as possible and seek a career to earn money, since having no income may put one under the financial pressure to some extent. Relying on parents’ money is difficult. Having said that, if one study in a sophisticated major, the amount of money that one earns is more in the long term. Besides, in the today's competitive job market, employers look for highly skilled and knowledgeable work forces to solve hard problems. Having a mediocre degree, one does not an advantage over other applicants in a career position. I give an example to shed light on this idea: Consider a person who decides to study accounting in order to graduate soon and one who studies software engineering: The positions for a software engineer are much higher-paying than the one who has studied accounting, although it has taken longer to get one's degree.

Alongside the reason I mentioned above, in case of educating longer in university, undoubtedly, my friend has more employment opportunities that brings the advantage for him to encounter a more suitable job, and even if he or she does not like the job, because of the abundance of other positions and his/her knowledge and insights in that major, my friend can switch his/her position later. Yet if he/she chooses to finish his/her study sooner, he/she won't have this great opportunity to change his/her job on demand, since open positions are eminently competitive. For instance, I majored in software engineering which is a difficult field. When I graduated, a lot of companies needed software engineers. The first company that I worked was not very satisfying in my opinion, so after a few months I quitted my job and joined another company with higher salary and better condition.

To recapitulate the aforementioned reasons, I believe that it is better to study longer in the university to have more employment opportunities. First, after graduating, one has more opportunities which pay him/her a great salary and has more options to choose from. Also, if the job one is doing is not rewarding or beneficial, one can easily quit and seek a better job, because of the unique skills one has gained during the long studies in the university.