Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

the traditional virtue of telling the truth in all situations is increasingly doubted by many in

today’s world. many believe that telling the truth is not always the best policy when dealing with

people. moreover, the line of a “truth” is becoming more and more vague. this essay will explore

the importance of telling the truth in relationships between people.

we all understand that often the truth is offending and may not be a very nice thing to both hear or

say. lies or white lies often have their advantages. the manipulation of white lies is the most

obvious the business world. how many times have we heard that some product is “the finest” or

“the cheapest”? how many times have we heard that products have such and such “magical

functions”? advertising is about persuasion, and many would agree that if a company is to tell the

absolute truth about it’s products, no one would be interested in even having a look at the

products.

the same logic applies to human relationships. if your friend had worn a newly purchased dress

on her birthday and energetically asked you if it was a worthy buy, would you freely express your

opinion that you had never seen a dress as the one she’s currently wearing? and spoil her

birthday? unarguably, hiding(entirely or particially) the truth in some situations can be quite

handy indeed. confrontations and disputes can seemingly be avoided.

however, there is always the risk factor of the truth emerging sooner or later when telling an

untruth. the basic trust in any relationships(businessman/customer, friends, parents/children) will

be blotched, and would have an impact on the future relationship between both parties. the story

of the “the boy who cried wolf” fully illustrates the consequenes of telling untruths. no one will

believe you when you’re telling the truth. your word will have no weighting.

in addition, another “bad factor” of telling untruths is that you have absolutely no control over

when the truth(of previous untruths) will emerge. untruths breed pain in both parties: tears when

the truth is uncovered after a period of time; fear and the burden of sharing a “secret”. in the long

run, it seems that hiding the truth is not beneficial to either party.

everyone hates betrayal. even if it is the trend to occasionally hide the truth in relationships, it is

strongly recommended that not to follow that trend as the risk and the consequences of the truth

unfolded overwhelms the minimal advantages one can derive from not telling the truth. afterall, it

is understood that relationships are founded on “trust” which goes hand in hand with “truth”.

indeed telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

always.