Do you agree or disagree with the following statment? Should governments spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics?

In the contemporary world, because of increasing expenses, there is a tendency toward governmental services, which could be extended to various fields from science, to art, or to athletic programs. Some individuals believe that governments should financially aid art programs, while, in contrast, there are other people believing that athletic activities such as state-adherent Olympic teams should receive the whole budget. I opine that the advantages of the latter opinion outweigh those of the former one. The reasons why I believe so are of great manifold--two of which, however, are of great consequence: the existence of art is upon such funds, and athletic programs have enough support to survive.

To begin with, the governmental budget has to allocate to artistic matters if the governments want this field survives in the harsh economic conditions of the modern world. Indeed, the inflation, prompted by bad economics, makes the situation for artists too bad that either normally they lose their jobs, or they are forced to change their field of work. For example, one of my friends who owns an art gallery, being an adept artist himself, faced a predicament around two years ago, which changed his life forever. What happened was the government cut off the aid provided to his art gallery, for they felt that the money was a better use for the town’s soccer team. For this reason, my friend had to fire most of his employees in order that he could keep his business going; subsequent to this action, he regretfully sold his gallery, which was quite celebrated amount young artists, mostly painters and photographers, and opened a bar. Another important aspect of this problem that needs our attention is whether athletics programs do really need such aid.

Furthermore, aside from the vitality of governmental financial funds to arts, the very important factor here is that athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams do not need a direct budget from the government, for they are already under the support of their own states, as well as other sponsors who do care about such teams. As a matter of fact, teams that play in national levels receive various financial aids from different sources since a win-result for the team would mean a lot of income for such sponsors. For instance, according to the Olympic committee, every team that can enter every stage of the games would receive around one-million dollars; more importantly, the winner in every field, in additional, would receive a prize of fifty-million dollars. In correspondence to the Committee’s rules, every sponsor would receive a ten percent of the total amount of money received by the team, which is an adequate impetus for more sponsors to step forward to support athletics teams from the very beginning.

In conclusion, governments should distribute money in the support of arts instead of wasting it on that of the athletics programs. Among assorted reasons, two are usually very important: governmental funds are vital for art’s existence and athletics programs do not need such funds. It is also predictable that should governments cut art’s support, the society would face the consequences of such decision, which would severe in many aspects.