TPO 41-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teaching is a sacred job in my opinion. Sometimes it is called "The Prophet's Profession" in my country. They should not only teach children science, litrature and math, but also make them familiar with ethics and what is good or bad. They make the first impression of litracy for children, so if they fail to impress them, it would be a huge loss. They cultivate a seed that grows forever. In the past, they were viewed as a role model for the society and were appreciated greatly. Personally, I thinke teachers are not valued as much as in the past. I explain my reasons in the following paragraphs.

In the past, most people were illiterate and could not teach much to their children themselves. Therefore, when people see their children go to school and learn things, they become very happy and attributed all those knowledge to the teacher. Parents got excited and did many things to thank the teacher. In their eyes, a teacher was no less than a magician. There were always high-ranking persons in royal families that taught princes and princesses. So people considered them of huge importance.

Besides, todya parents have become more expective and demanding from teachers. They are more knowledgeable and the gap between teachers and parents have reduced dramatically. They see themselves even more elevated then teachers who teach their children. Thus, they argue that teaching is not a very impressive and significant job, and in doing so, they do not value teachers. Sometimes they complain teachers that gives homework to children. Sometimes they complain about lack of knowledge in teachers. Sometimes they complain about the way a teacher treats their children. All in all, they tend to appreciate teachers less than past.

To sum up, I think that teachers are not respected as they were in the past. Formerly they were highly appreciated class of the society who were doing job of prophets, when most parents were illiterate. Also, expectation of the parents from teachers has increased very much. They may consider a teacher less intelligent or knowledgeable than themselves or argue that their method of teaching is not suitable. That is why teachers are not appreciated as the past.