TPO 40

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

There is no shortage of opinion on whether parents should reward their children with cash for high grades. In my opinion, encouraging students with money has many drawbacks. I feel this way for three main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent ideas.

Firstly, even though parents can inspire their offspring for short time, consequences may provide unsatisfactory results after long period, especially when they start living independently from their parents. Main reason of this result is that they are encouraged by external influence and studied for the money rather than knowledge. For instance, my parents had been rewarding my sister for the success in the high school until she starts studying in the university. Unfortunately, her grades dropped significantly as soon as she stops receiving money because there was nothing to encourage her. By contrast, my brother who have never received reward for grades are still succeeding in the university. Because he was motivated internally and strived for knowledge rather than other things, he is managing himself self-dependably and adequately.

Secondly, pupils may be distracted from the lesson as soon as they get money and available to enjoy things unrelated to the education. Afterwards, they may start expending their valuable time which should be spent for knowledge because they are capable of doing unnecessary things with money, which will probably occasion distraction from the study. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is influenced by my own experience. Until my parents start giving me bonus from my mother, I had had the acceptable success in the school including prizes of mathematics competitions and grade. Unfortunately, I afforded cellphone with a bonus I received, and started expending magnitude of time on the social platforms and mobile games, so I repeated grades for whole year. Drawing from my own experience, students cannot to concentrate on the lesson comprehensively if they have money.

Finally, all available money of parents should be dedicated for necessary things such as books, laptop and tutors. Therefore, students' chance to improve themselves will be increased profoundly, which is the large investment for education. For example, my friend who has never received cash but handouts and other necessary investments from his father is good at every subject because he was always capable of attending additional class and perusing requisite materials. Therefore, he have succeeded thanks to the appropriate assistance of father.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that offering young people bonus for satisfactory grade is improper method. This is because they will lose the commitment as soon as they stop taking appraisal, may get distracted in light of money and parents' possible income should be devoted for the necessary matters.