The government can take a variety of actions to help protect the environment. Which one of the following do you think is the most important for the nation’s government to take to protect the environment?

1. Fund research to develop environmentally friendly energy sources such as solar and wind energy.

2. Preserve the natural places like forests and protect the animals that live there.

3. Enforce laws to prevent the pollution of air and water by large companies.

The answer to the question that how the governments to help protect the environment can be varied from person to person. In my opinion, enforcing laws to prevent the air and water pollution by larger companies is more beneficial. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, the most hazardous and harmful pollution is produced by large companies. In fact, if governments enact some strict laws, they are able to curb their contribution to air and water pollution. Therefore, If they take some solution to tackle this problem, the public affect the action of politicians by voting for those who propose a solution to tackle air and water pollution rather than those who ignore it. Because the governments have the power to ban their negative contribution to air and water. An example will illustrate this viewpoint much better. There is a company, which produces chemical fertilizer, near to our city. A high percentage of water pollution of our city stem from this company. Subsequently, governments enact the laws which force them to refine the water before reaching the water. For this reason, I strongly believe that the most beneficial solution to prevent at least mitigate the negative effects of companies is enacting some strict law by governments.

Second, nowadays most companies are depending on the subside of governments in order to survive in the competitive world of the market. As a matter of fact, governments can threat them to eliminate theirs subsides if they continue to poullutin the air and water. In addition, Since most of this pollution deriving from using old equipment, the government is able to force them to allocate some of their profit to invest in buying advanced equipment. For example, when I was an undergraduate student, I had a part-time job at university campus magazine as a reporter. As I remember, one time, I interviewed professor Nejati, who is a well-known expert in the field of environment. He told me that after enacting some strict laws forcing the companies, which had a high contribution to air and water pollution, to buy new equipment, the pollution index has decreased enormously.

In conclusion, no one can deny the important role of governments' laws in order to eliminate or at least mitigate the air and water pollution, which produce by large companies. Not only do they reduce the air and water pollution enormously, but also they can provide an opportunity for companies to have better equipment.