A government should focus its budget more on young children education than on universities.

Should a government focus its budget more on young children’s education than on universities? The answer is yes. I concede that university education now mostly relies on government funding. However, early education has a stronger need for additional funding in order to guarantee quality education and school facilities.

Children aged five to eighteen years old are at the most crucial stage of their intellectual development, therefore deserving better educators. According to the latest research reported by the China Children Health Fund (CCHF), a child’s intelligence develops mostly from five to eighteen, thus requiring excellent educators in their early development. Besides, the training and education of well-qualified teachers in primary schools or secondary schools are often quite costly, and teachers need to be paid a relatively high salary. As the number of qualified teachers in the primary schools and secondary schools increases, K-18 education becomes more unaffordable for parents. As a result, the government should subsidize early education to relieve the burden.

Good facilities are another essential component of comprehensive learning programs for children. Although universities can argue that post-secondary education also requires funding, the world has seen many brilliant inventions and much useful research done without much funding. Some of the most remarkable scientific discoveries in the past decade, such as the latest quick-charge batteries and artificial chemical lighting, were done with little to no government funding. Meanwhile, such discoveries could not be made without proper education stimulating one’s creative and analytical faculties.

Admittedly, university education does need money. Usually, salaries of college professors are high and schooling instruments are costly. However, college education should mainly rely on donations from social organizations, large corporations and accomplished alumni. These groups can relieve much of the financial pressures universities face. What is more, considered as the education of elites, a college career is optional—therefore, colleges should not impose their burden on the general public and should instead charge students higher tuition fees for enrolling in university.

To conclude, although universities need funding to build campuses, remodel laboratories and refill libraries, many social organizations, companies and individuals can raise the funds for them. The government, with a limited budget spread across many fields, should place their priority in early education in order to ensure a healthy future for the country.